Skip to main content

The mission of the Office of Public Affairs is to reach, inform, educate, and engage consumers and businesses through media and digital technologies and in collaboration with our internal partners to advance consumer protection and competition. The office is the primary point of contact for all news media inquiries.

Phone: 202-326-2180
Email: opa@ftc.gov

Media Contacts

Peter Kaplan
Deputy Director
202-326-2334 | pkaplan@ftc.gov
Juliana Gruenwald Henderson
Technology issues & privacy
202-326-2924 | jhenderson2@ftc.gov
Betsy Lordan
Mergers & competition
202-326-3707 | elordan@ftc.gov
Mitchell J. Katz
Ad practices & telemarketing
202-326-2161 | mkatz@ftc.gov
Nicole Drayton
Military & education
202-326-2565 | ndrayton@ftc.gov
Jay Mayfield
Marketing practices, debt collection and lending
202-326-2656 | jmayfield@ftc.gov

Web and Digital Strategy Team

Vacant
Website Manager
Hortense Barber
Digital Communications Specialist
Shani Felder
Digital Communications Technologies Specialist
Bre'Anna James
Public Affairs Information Specialist
Bryan Acree
Digital Communications Analyst

Support Staff

Bre'Anna James
Public Affairs Information Specialist
202-326-2180

Resources

Internships

The Office of Public Affairs (OPA) offers university students interested and skilled in communications, digital media, social media, marketing, analytics, and government and media affairs opportunities to work alongside federal employees who are communications and strategy professionals.

Learn more and how to apply.

Organization Chart

Office of Public Affairs Organization Chart (105.21 KB)

Official Seal

Downloadable FTC seal (black and white) (427.38 KB)

Downloadable FTC seal (color) (502.12 KB)

FTC Headquarters Building

Downloadable Image of FTC Headquarters Building (1.27 MB)

Join us at the FTC!

View our open positions