Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Skip to main content

Tags:

As commerce continually becomes more international, an increasing number of the FTC’s antitrust investigations involve international issues. To promote and protect free and vigorous competition, the FTC continues to build and strengthen relationships with competition agencies around the world. These relationships are a key component of the FTC’s competition enforcement program, and they facilitate the agency’s efforts to promote convergence toward sound competition enforcement and policy. The FTC continues to work closely with the European Union, Canada, and many other jurisdictions on cases of mutual interest.

The FTC also works with several multilateral organizations to facilitate dialogue and convergence toward sound competition policy and enforcement, particularly the International Competition Network (ICN), the Competition Committee of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and regional organizations such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC). The FTC serves on the ICN Steering Group and co-chairs the Agency Effectiveness Working Group, in which it co-heads its Investigative Process Project. The FTC also leads the ICN Training on Demand. Recently, the FTC helped found the Inter-American Competition Alliance, which fosters enforcement cooperation in the Americas through regular conference calls on matters of mutual interest.

The FTC plays an active role in negotiating competition chapters of free trade agreements. The FTC also provides competition technical assistance to countries transitioning to market economies and establishing new competition regimes.

Resources

Additional Information

Contact Us

  • Maria B. Coppola, t.202-326-2482 mcoppola@ftc.gov
    Acting Director, Office of International Affairs
  • Elizabeth Kraus, t.202-326-2649 ekraus@ftc.gov
    Deputy Director for International Antitrust
  • Molly Askin, t.202-326-3663 maskin@ftc.gov
    ICN; Advocacy; Africa and the Middle East; International Discovery
  • Russell Damtoft, t.202-326-2893 rdamtoft@ftc.gov
    Canada, Mexico, Latin America, South America, and Ukraine;
    United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
  • Andrew Heimert, t.202-326-2474 aheimert@ftc.gov
    Australia, China, Japan, Korea, and New Zealand; Unilateral conduct policy
  • Tim Hughes, t.202-326-3503 thughes@ftc.gov
    Technical Assistance Coordinator; SE Asia and Middle East
  • Cynthia Lagdameo, t.212-607-2828 clagdameo@ftc.gov
    ICN; OECD
  • Paul O'Brien, t.202-326-2831 pobrien@ftc.gov
    ICN Coordinator; Agency Effectiveness
  • Jon Nathan, t.202-326-2457 jnathan@ftc.gov
    ICN Mergers; European Union, France, Ireland, UK, India, and Israel; Cooperation