Skip to main content

The Federal Trade Commission today released the final agenda for its upcoming Energy Conference, which is scheduled for April 10-12 in Washington, D.C. One of the new highlights of the final agenda is the announcement that Secretary Samuel W. Bodman of the United States Department of Energy will deliver the opening keynote address of the conference on the morning of April 10.

The final agenda, which also lists the moderators and speakers for each of the conference panels, can be found on the Energy Conference Web page at

The free public conference, entitled “Energy Markets in the 21st Century: Competition Policy in Perspective,” will bring together leading experts from government, industry, consumer groups, and academia to exchange information and ideas about issues related to the development, transportation, marketing, and use of energy.

The goal of the conference is to provide a forum for a broad range of groups and individuals to discuss and debate critical issues of energy policy. The event will explore a wide range of topics relevant to maintaining competition and protecting consumers in energy markets. Panelists are expected to address issues in a number of energy sectors spanning petroleum, natural gas, biofuels, coal, the electric power industry (including nuclear power), and others.

The conference will be held at the agency’s satellite building conference center at 601 New Jersey Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C. Members of the public and press who cannot attend may view a live Webcast of the conference on the FTC’s Web site. For admittance to the conference center, all attendees will be required to show a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license. Pre-registration is not necessary but is encouraged. To pre-register, please e-mail your name and affiliation to

In addition to being available on the Energy Conference Web site, at, the final conference agenda may be obtained from the FTC’s Consumer Response Center, Room 130, 600 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20580.

Contact Information

Mitchell J. Katz,
Office of Public Affairs
John H. Seesel,
Associate General Counsel for Energy