Skip to main content

I have resigned as Chairman of the Federal Trade Commission, effective August 15.

By announcing his intention to appoint Deborah P. Majoras as an FTC Commissioner and the next Chairman, the President ensures the FTC’s ability to continue its strong record of competition and consumer protection achievements.

Debbie is a highly talented and experienced lawyer, and will be an excellent Chairman. I am confident that she will provide continuity to the FTC’s important missions.

Additionally, the President has announced his intention to appoint Jonathan Leibowitz as a Commissioner. Jon brings many talents to the FTC, including a legislative and antitrust background. He will be an impressive Commissioner.

Serving as Chairman of the Commission has been the greatest honor of my professional career. It has been a privilege to serve with such talented fellow Commissioners and staff.

Contact Information

Media Contact:
Nancy Ness Judy,
Office of Public Affairs