Skip to main content
Who: The Commission on Child Online Protection (COPA) Commissioners:
  • Donald Telage, Network Solutions Inc. - Commission Chairman
  • Stephen Balkam, Internet Content Rating Association
  • John Bastian, Security Software Systems
  • Jerry Berman, Center for Democracy & Technology
  • Arthur H. DeRosier, Jr., Rocky Mountain College
  • J. Robert Flores, National Law Center for Children and Families
  • Albert F. Ganier III, Education Networks of America
  • Michael E. Horowitz, Department of Justice
  • Donna Rice Hughes, Author, Kids Online/Founder,
  • C. Lee Peeler, Federal Trade Commission
  • William M. Parker,
  • Gregory L. Rohde, Department of Commerce/NTIA
  • C. James Schmidt, San Jose State University
  • William L. Schrader, PSINet
  • Larry Shapiro, Disney's
  • Srinija Srinivasan, Yahoo! Inc.
  • Karen Talbert, Nortel Networks
  • George Vradenburg III, America Online, Inc.
What: COPA Commission Public Meeting
When: Wednesday, October 4
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Thursday, October 5
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Where: America Online, Inc.
22200 AOL Way
Sterling, VA 20166
"The Paris Room"
Please bring a photo i.d. for entry into the building.
Contact: Kristin Litterst or Jennifer Moire
Dittus Communications
202/298-9055 or

The COPA Commission, a congressionally appointed panel, was mandated by the Child Online Protection Act that was approved by Congress in October 1998. The primary purpose of the Commission is to "identify technological or other methods that will help reduce access by minors to material that is harmful to minors on the Internet." At the meeting, the Commissioners will focus on finalizing the draft report and voting on recommendations. The report is due to Congress by October 21, 2000.