Skip to main content


The Challenge

As part of the National Day of Civic Hacking on June 6, 2015, the FTC challenged the tech-savvy public to DetectaRobo. Contestants analyzed call data to create algorithms that could predict which calls were likely robocalls.

The Results

Nineteen teams registered for the contest. Our judges reviewed and scored submissions based on functionality, accuracy, innovation, and creativity, and selected one winning team, and two runners-up. There were no monetary prizes for this contest, but teams were awarded these titles:

Champion RoboSleuth

Team HaV: Ved Deshpande and M. Henry Linder

Master RoboSleuths

Team Milibo: Sridhar Ramakrishnan and Shuping Liu

Team RDAC: Charles Julian Knight, Taylor Kelley, Ian Moraes, Rohan Smith, Will Mavis, John Cowhig, Sean Browning, James Albert Snow, and Pablo River

Congratulations and Thank You

Congratulations to the winners and runners-up! 

FTC staff would like to thank our contest partners Pindrop Security and the CRTC for all their help in making this contest a success. Many thanks also to the contestants, who made our first experience with the National Day of Civic Hacking a great one. We hope you continue to help us in the fight against robocalls!


For more information about the contest, check out the press release. If you have any questions or comments, please email