International Competition

Tags:

As commerce continually becomes more international, an increasing number of the FTC’s antitrust investigations involve international issues. To promote and protect free and vigorous competition, the FTC continues to build and strengthen relationships with competition agencies around the world. These relationships are a key component of the FTC’s competition enforcement program, and they facilitate the agency’s efforts to promote convergence toward sound competition enforcement and policy. The FTC continues to work closely with the European Union, Canada, and many other jurisdictions on cases of mutual interest.

The FTC also works with several multilateral organizations to facilitate dialogue and convergence toward sound competition policy and enforcement, particularly the International Competition Network (ICN), the Competition Committee of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and regional organizations such as the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC). The FTC serves on the ICN Steering Group and co-chairs the Agency Effectiveness Working Group, in which it co-heads its Investigative Process Project. The FTC also leads the ICN Curriculum Project. Recently, the FTC helped found the Inter-American Competition Alliance, which fosters enforcement cooperation in the Americas through regular conference calls on matters of mutual interest.

The FTC plays an active role in negotiating competition chapters of free trade agreements. The FTC also provides competition technical assistance to countries transitioning to market economies and establishing new competition regimes.

Resources

Additional Information

Contact Us

  • Randolph W. Tritell, t.202-326-3051 rtritell@ftc.gov
    Director, Office of International Affairs
  • Elizabeth Kraus, t.202-326-2649 ekraus@ftc.gov
    Deputy Director for International Antitrust
  • Molly Askin, t.202-326-3663 maskin@ftc.gov
    ICN; Belgium, Portugal, Spain, and North Africa;
    Merger Policy
  • Maria Coppola, t.202-326-2482  mcoppola@ftc.gov
    European Union, France, Ireland, UK
  • Russell Damtoft, t.202-326-2893 rdamtoft@ftc.gov
    Canada, Mexico, Latin America, South America, and Russia;
    United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
  • Joshua Gray, t.202-326-3729 jbgray@ftc.gov
    Policy and Coordination
  • Andrew Heimert, t.202-326-2474 aheimert@ftc.gov
    China, Japan, and Korea; Unilateral conduct policy
  • Tim Hughes, t.202-326-3503  thughes@ftc.gov
    Technical Assistance Coordinator; SE Asia and Middle East
  • Krisztian Katona, t.202-326-2517 kkatona@ftc.gov
    OECD; Germany, Italy, Central and Eastern Europe
  • Cynthia Lagdameo, t.212-606-2828 clagdameo@ftc.gov
    ICN; Australia, Israel, New Zealand
  • Paul O'Brien, t.202-326-2831 pobrien@ftc.gov
    ICN Coordinator; Agency Effectiveness
  • Koren Wong-Ervin, t.202-326-2445 kwongervin@ftc.gov
    Intellectual Property; International Discovery