Disconnect and Reconnect in SAFE VPN

During extended telework, it is advised to keep your laptop connected to the FTC network after hours to get updates. To assure that your laptop stays connected later into the evening, disconnect and then reconnect at the end of the workday, then leave your laptop powered on and connected and simply lock the laptop. It is okay to close the lid at that point.

To sign completely out of SAFE VPN (using PIV card or soft token):

Click on the START menu.

Select Sign out.

Windows Sign Out button

This ends your SAFE session and disconnects you from the VPN.  

To reconnect to SAFE:

Sign back in to your laptop.

Open Internet Explorer and navigate to SAFE through https://www.ftc.gov/telework.