## Public Workshop on DOJ/FTC Merger Guidelines November 3, 9:00am – 4:00pm CT The University of Chicago Law School, Coase-Sandor Institute for Law and Economics

**9:00am** – Welcome: Thomas J. Miles, Dean and Clifton R. Musser Professor of Law and Economics, The University of Chicago Law School

**9:05am** – Opening Remarks: Susan C. Athey, Chief Economist, U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division

#### 9:30am – Panel 1: Rebuttals

Moderator: Andrew Forman, Deputy Assistant Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division

Panelists:

- David A. Ettinger, Partner, Honigman LLP
- Diana Moss, Vice President and Director of Competition Policy, Progressive Policy Institute
- William Rogerson, Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor and Director of The Center for Business Institutions, Northwestern University
- Margaret Slade, Professor Emeritus, Vancouver School of Economics at The University of British Columbia
- Jennifer E. Sturiale, Assistant Professor of Law, Widener University Delaware Law School

## $10:45 am-{\hbox{Break}}$

## 11:00am – Panel 2: Labor Competition

Moderator: Ioana Marinescu, Principal Economist, U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division

Panelists:

- Kyle Herkenhoff, Associate Professor, University of Minnesota
- Beatriz Marques, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the New York State Attorney General
- Justin McCrary, Paul J. Evanson Professor of Law, Columbia Law School
- Eric A. Posner, Kirkland and Ellis Distinguished Service Professor of Law and Arthur and Esther Kane Research Chair, The University of Chicago Law School
- Elena Prager, Assistant Professor, University of Rochester Simon Business School

 $12{:}15pm-\text{Lunch}$ 

**1:30pm** – Afternoon Remarks: Principal Deputy Assistant Attorney General Doha Mekki, U.S. Department of Justice Antitrust Division

1:45pm – Panel 3: Dynamics of Competition

Moderator: Aviv Nevo, Director of the Bureau of Economics, Federal Trade Commission

Panelists:

- Rebecca Haw Allensworth, Associate Dean for Research and David Daniels Allen Professor of Law, Vanderbilt Law School
- Gwendolyn J. Lindsay Cooley, Assistant Attorney General and NAAG Antitrust Task Force Chair, Wisconsin Department of Justice
- Joseph Farrell, Professor of the Graduate School, University of California, Berkeley
- Chad Syverson, George C. Tiao Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business
- Thomas Wollman, Associate Professor of Economics and William Ladany Faculty Scholar, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business

# 3:00pm – Break

**3:15pm** – Closing Remarks: Aviv Nevo, Director of the Bureau of Economics, Federal Trade Commission