FTC Announces Agenda, Panelists for Upcoming Mobile Cramming Roundtable

Share This Page

For Release

Consumer advocates, government officials and industry representatives will take part in a roundtable discussion on mobile cramming hosted by the Federal Trade Commission on May 8. Roundtable participants will discuss the practice of placing unauthorized charges on consumers’ monthly mobile phone bills, known as mobile cramming, and address ways to prevent it.

The roundtable discussion will be free and open to the public. It will be held at the FTC Conference Center at 601 New Jersey Avenue, N.W. in Washington, D.C.
FTC Commissioner Maureen Ohlhausen will provide opening remarks at the roundtable. Panelists will address the state of mobile cramming today, current strategies to prevent and respond to mobile cramming, and how those strategies might evolve to better protect consumers in the future. The FTC recently brought its first case against a mobile cramming operation.

The tentative agenda is included below. Any updates, along with logistical information for those planning to attend, can be found on the roundtable website.

8:30 Registration
9:00 Introduction:
Stephanie Rosenthal, Chief of Staff, FTC Division of Financial Practices

Welcoming Remarks:
Maureen Ohlhausen, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
9:15 Panel 1: Understanding Third-Party Billing and Mobile Cramming
  Moderators: Larissa Bungo, Assistant Regional Director, FTC East Central Region
Andrew Schlossberg, Mobile Program Specialist, FTC Mobile Technology Unit
  Panelists: Mike Altschul, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, CTIA
John Breyault, Vice President of Public Policy, Telecommunications and Fraud, National Consumers League
Larry Bryenton, Strategic Policy Advisor and Major Case Director, Competition Bureau, Canada
Jim Greenwell, CEO and President, BilltoMobile
Jim Manis, Founder and CEO, Mobile Giving Foundation
Kate Whelley McCabe, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Vermont Attorney General
10:30 Break
10:45 Panel 2: Current Strategies to Reduce Mobile Cramming
  Moderators: Russell Deitch, Staff Attorney, FTC Division of Marketing Practices
Duane Pozza, Staff Attorney, FTC Division of Financial Practices
  Panelists: Jim Chilsen, Director of Communications, Citizens Utility Board
Cara Frey, General Counsel, Mobile Marketing Association
Derek Halliday, Senior Security Project Manager, Lookout Mobile Security
John Bruner, Chief Operating Officer, Aegis Mobile
Paul Singer, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Texas Attorney General
Chris Witteman, Senior Staff Counsel, California Public Utilities Commission [by phone]
12:15 Lunch
1:30 Panel 3: Other Possible Strategies to Address Mobile Cramming
  Moderators: Malini Mithal, Assistant Director, FTC Division of Financial Practices
Jim Trilling, Staff Attorney, FTC Division of Advertising Practices
  Panelists: Mike Altschul, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, CTIA
Dave Asheim, President and CEO, Give by Cell
Delara Derakhshani, Policy Counsel, Consumers Union
Lynn Follansbee, Attorney-Advisor, Policy Division, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, FCC
Martine Niejadlik, Compliance Officer and Vice President of Support, Boku
Alan Sege, Chief Strategy Officer, m-Qube, Inc.
Melanie Tiano, Investigative Counsel, U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation
2:45 Closing Remarks:
Jessica Rich Associate Director, FTC Division of Financial Practices

The Federal Trade Commission works for consumers to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices and to provide information to help spot, stop, and avoid them. To file a complaint in English or Spanish, visit the FTC's online Complaint Assistant or call1-877-FTC-HELP (1-877-382-4357). The FTC enters complaints into Consumer Sentinel, a secure, online database available to more than 2,000 civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad. The FTC’s website provides free information on a variety of consumer topics.  Like the FTC on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, and subscribe to press releases for the latest FTC news and resources.

Contact Information

Jay Mayfield
Office of Public Affairs

Stephanie Rosenthal
Bureau of Consumer Protection

Andrew Schlossberg
Bureau of Consumer Protection