FTC to Announce More Cases Against Deceptive Robocallers

Actions Continue Agencys Work to Protect Consumers From Unwanted Telemarketing Calls

Media Advisory

At a press conference in Chicago, Illinois, the Federal Trade Commission will announce a new set of cases targeting telemarketing “robocallers,” as part of a joint federal/state enforcement sweep to protect consumers from unwanted, sometimes harassing calls.  Charles Harwood, Deputy Director of the FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection, and Steven Baker, Director of the agency’s Midwest Region, will announce the cases at the event on November 1, 2012 at 10:30 a.m. Central Time.  They will be joined by consumer victims of deceptive robocalls.

WHO: FTC Deputy Consumer Protection Director, Charles Harwood

FTC Midwest Region Director, Steven Baker

Consumer victims of robocall fraud

WHAT: Press conference to announce robocall enforcement sweep
WHEN: Thursday, November 1, 2012; 10:30 a.m. CT (11:30 a.m. ET);
lines open at 10:15 a.m. CT (11:15 a.m. ET)
WHERE: FTC’s Midwest Region Office,
55 W. Monroe St.,
Suite 1825,
Chicago, Illinois
MEDIA CONTACT: FTC Office of Public Affairs
202-326-2161 

FTC Midwest Region
312-960-5634 

Call-in Information

Reporters can call in with questions using the following information:

Call-in Number: 800-398-9379
International:  612-332-0725
Conference ID Number: 269686
Conference Host: Bruce Jennings

NOTE:  To join this conference call all participants will be required to provide the Conference ID number above.

 

Contact Information